National Barley Cluster 2018-2023

The Barley Council of Canada is the recipient and administrator of the $10.2 million National Barley Cluster under the Federal Government’s CAP AgriScience Program on behalf of Canadian barley industry funders. The Canadian Agricultural Partnership (CAP) is a five-year (2018-2023), $3 billion investment by federal, provincial and territorial governments to strengthen the agriculture and agri-food sector. Barley Cluster industry funders supporting this Cluster include: Saskatchewan Barley Development Commission, Alberta Grains, Western Grains Research Foundation (WGRF), Brewing and Malting Barley Research Institute (BMBRI), Grain Farmers of Ontario, Producteurs de grains du Quebec, SeCan, Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association, and Atlantic Grains Council.

Priority areas of CAP include enhancing the competitiveness of the sector by advancing its science and innovation capacity, and adoption of innovative products and practices with a focus on sustainable and clean production. The overall goals of the Barley Cluster research projects are to improve the quality traits of Canadian barley to satisfy the diverse and evolving needs of our customers and to ensure that barley production remains competitive with other major crops in Canada. Research areas within the Cluster include variety development, agronomic productivity, disease resistance, quality & performance, and sustainability.

Learn more about the Barley Council of Canada and the National Barley Cluster at:


Variety Development

Feed Barley

Disease Management

Malting & Brewing

Crop Management

Building Barley Better

The Building Better Barley Podcast

View the Building Better Barley 2019 brochure and 2019 magazine.